Home

Being back in New Haven at first made me nervous, I guess simply because I hadn’t been involved with this art scene for a while since I have been away at school. Though I was welcomed with open arms as always. “Art is a part of our culture here in New Haven, it distinguishes us from any other city,” says John Destefano, Mayor of New Haven. New Haven is the home of hundreds of artists of all ages and City Wide Open Studios is the place where we can all see and share. Greeted by many familiar faces during the opening event at Artspace for City Wide Open Studios, and I was quickly reminded of why City Wide Open Studios is my home. In 2006, I signed up to participate in City Wide Open Studios during the fall semester of my 2nd year in undergrad. I was prepared to just show some things I had been working on in my studio classes as a Art Ed major. The response to my work and my ideas was amazing. The community of artists and art lovers embraced me as an artist. By the end of that week after my return to Boston, I was officially a painting major. It all started at City Wide Open Studios 2006. It gave me a warm feeling to be in the mist of City Wide Open Studios 2010, with the crowd of people with creativity at heart.

I am excited to studio hop today at Erector Square!

Destiny Palmer is a recent graduate of Massachusetts College Art and Design. She received her BFA in Fine Arts after studying at the Yale/Norfolk Program and traveling to South Africa. We’re happy to welcome Destiny back to Artspace, where she has been a Teen Docent, a Summer Apprentice, and a Youthview Young Curator.  She adds, “Even though I have traveled and studied many places, City-Wide Open Studios in New Haven is the only reason I believed I could do all of those things. It was my first interaction with the contemporary art scene.”

Leave a Reply

